Essential Judaism for Educators

Program Description

The Essential Judaism for Educators summer professional development program provides educators with a grounding in Jewish text, customs and rituals. Through a combination of interactive online classes, paired-learning (havruta) and independent readings participants will emerge feeling equipped to more skillfully incorporate Jewish texts and themes into their teaching. [1on1 mentoring, to assist in integrating the content into participants’ professional work, can be added to this program at additional cost.]

This program is designed for:

  • Experiential Jewish educators who want to infuse their programming with more Jewish content.
  • Administrators at Jewish day schools who want to have the knowledge and skills to engage more meaningfully in the culture and values of the institution where they work.
  • Classroom educators, whether general studies or Jewish studies teachers, who want to bring more Jewish content and to their teaching.

Class #1
7:30 am-9:30 am MDT
9:30 am-11:30 am EDT
4:30 pm-6:30 pm IDT

Class #2
9:00 am-10:45 am PDT
10:00 am-11:45 am MDT
12:00 pm-1:45 pm EDT
7:00 pm-8:45 pm IDT

Class #3
11:10 am-12:00 pm PDT
12:10 pm-1:00 pm MDT
2:10 pm-3:00 pm EDT
9:10 pm-10:00 pm IDT

Participants are expected to take part in two classes. Those participants on the East Coast will take class #1 and class #2, and can of course choose to take #3 as well if they like. Those on the West Coast will take classes #2 and #3.

Each course runs for two weeks; participants can choose to do a two-week stint in the program or all four weeks. Four weeks costs $515, and two weeks is $275.
Please note: Final admittance into the program is dependent upon a commitment of payment of the program fee.

Email Aviva Lauer at aviva@pardes.org.il for more information or click here to apply now.