Upcoming Event

Why is this Night Different From all Other Nights? The Talmud’s Pesah Seder; Intro to Mishnah and Talmud

Sunday, January 10, 2021

1:00 pm - 3:00 pm, EST

 

Why is this Night Different From all Other Nights?

The Talmud’s Pesah Seder

Intro to Mishnah and Talmud

with Rav Rahel Berkovits

In this ten-session course culminating the week before Passover, we will examine the original structure and basis for the current practice of the Pesah Seder as it was first presented by the Rabbis. The Seder, a rabbinic creation, is laid out in the 10th Chapter of Mishnah Pesahim. The chapter begins on the late afternoon of the 14th of Nissan and culminates at midnight, as people are nodding off, on the 15th, taking us step by step through the Seder. The text clearly crafts and creates a very specific experience. Each week we will study one Mishnah and an excerpt from the Talmud linked to it so that when the time for our own personal Seder arrives we will have a richer understanding of the story the Rabbis are telling us about the holiday, the Rabbinic enterprise in general, and our history as a people.

This course is 2 hours long with time for havruta (paired) learning.

8:00 pm – 10:00 pm Israel
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Eastern USA
10:00 am – 12:00 pm Pacific USA

Classes begin on January 10th.
No class on February 28 because of Purim in Jerusalem (Shushan Purim)
Final Class will be Sunday, March 21

$125 for all 10-sessions / Video recordings will be available to all students.
THIS CLASS IS SOLD OUT!

Learn more about Pardes Online